Home About Us Jane Goodall Chimpanzees Our Programmes How to Help News and Events Contact Details  
  | Jane Goodall | Biography | Chimpanzees | Publications | Awards & Distinctions |  
  Jane Goodall Awards & Distinctions  
1962 Entered Cambridge University, England, as Ph.D. candidate in Ethology under Professor Robert Hinde


From 1960 Behaviour of free-living chimpanzees in the Gombe National Park, Tanzania
1968-1969 Social behaviour of the Spotted Hyena, Crocutta crocutta, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1972-2003 Director of research on the behaviour of the Olive Baboon, Papio anubis, Gombe National Park
1967-2003 Scientific Director of the Gombe Stream Research Centre, Tanzania 

Selected Professional Affiliations

From 1974 Trustee, L.S.B. Leakey Foundation, USA
From 1976 Trustee, Jane Goodall Institute for Wildlife Research, Education and Conservation, USA
From 1984 International Director, ChimpanZoo (research program involving zoos and sanctuaries worldwide), USA
From 1987 Vice President, the British Veterinary Association's Animal Welfare Institute, UK
From 1988 Trustee, Jane Goodall Institute, UK
From 1989 Director, Humane Society of the United States
From 1990 Vice President for Conservation International Board of MediSend
From 1993 Trustee, Jane Goodall Institute, Canada
From 1994 Member of the Board of the Orangutan Foundation, USA
From 1995 Founder, Whole Child Initiative International, USA
From 1998 President, Advocates for Animals, UK
From 2001 Advisor and Founder of the Whole Child Initiative USA
From 2001 Co-founder of EETA/CRABS (Ethologists for Ethical Treatment of Animals/Citizens for Responsible Animal Behavior)


1963-64 Franklin Burr Award for Contribution to Science, National Geographic Society
1970 Stott Science Award, Cambridge University
1974 Gold Medal for Conservation, San Diego Zoological Society
1974 Conservation Award, Women's Branch of the New York Zoological Society
1974 Brad Washburn Award, Boston Museum of Science (with Hugo van Lawick)
1980 Order of the Golden Ark, World Wildlife Award for Conservation
1984 J. Paul Getty Wildlife Conservation Prize
1985 Living Legacy Award from the International Women's League
1987 The Albert Schweitzer Award of the Animal Welfare Institute
1987 National Alliance for Animals Award
1987 E. Mendel Medaille from the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
1987 Golden Plate Award, American Academy of Achievement
1988 Centennial Award, National Geographic Society
1988 Joseph Krutch Award, the Humane Society of the United States
1988 Award for Humane Excellence, American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
1989 Encyclopedia Britannica Award for Excellence on the Dissemination of Learning for the Benefit of Mankind
1989 Anthropologist of the Year Award
1990 The AMES Award, American Anthropologist Association
1990 Whooping Crane Conservation Award, Conoco, Inc.
1990 Gold Medal of the Society of Women Geographers
1990 Inamori Foundation Award
1990 Washoe Award
1990 The Kyoto Prize in Basic Science
1991 The Edinburgh Medal
1993 Rainforest Alliance Champion Award
1994 Chester Zoo Diamond Jubilee Medal
1995 Commander of the British Empire, presented by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
1995 The National Geographic Society Hubbard Medal for Distinction in Exploration, Discovery, and Research
1995 Lifetime Achievement Award, In Defense of Animals
1995 The Moody Gardens Environmental Award
1995 Honorary Wardenship of Uganda National Parks
1996 The Zoological Society of London Silver Medal
1996 The Tanzanian Kilimanjaro Medal
1996 The Primate Society of Great Britain Conservation Award
1996 The Caring Institute Award
1996 The Polar Bear Award
1996 William Proctor Prize for Scientific Achievement
1997 John & Alice Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement
1997 David S. Ingells, Jr. Award for Excellence
1997 Common Wealth Award for Public Service
1997 The Field Museum's Award of Merit
1997 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement
1997 Royal Geographical Society / Discovery Channel Europe Award for A Lifetime of Discovery
1998 Disney's Animal Kingdom Eco Hero Award
1998 National Science Board Public Service Award
1998 The Orion Society's John Hay Award
1999 International Peace Award
1999 Botanical Research Institute of Texas International Award of Excellence in Conservation
2000 Reorganized Church of the Latter Day Saints International Peace Award
2001 Graham J. Norton Award for Achievement in Increasing Community Liability
2001 Rungius Award of the National Museum of Wildlife Art, USA
2001 Roger Tory Peterson Memorial Medal, Harvard Museum of Natural History
2001 Master Peace Award
2001 Gandhi/King Award for Non-Violence
2002 The Huxley Memorial Medal, Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland
2002 United Nations "Messenger of Peace" Appointment
2003 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Life Science
2003 Harvard Medical School's Center for Health and the Global Environment Award
2003 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Achievement
2003 Dame of the British Empire, presented by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
2003 Chicago Academy of Sciences' Honorary Environmental Leader Award
2003 Commonwealth Club Centennial Medallion Award
2004 Teachers College Columbia University Medal for Distinguished Service to Education
2004 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest
2004 Will Rogers Spirit Award, the Rotary Club of Will Rogers and Will Rogers Memorial Museums
2004 Life Time Achievement Award, the International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW)
2004 Polar Star Award, Paris, France
2004 Save Our Species Award, Santa Barbara, California, USA
2004 Time Magazine European Heroes Award
2004 Extraordinary Service to Humanity Award, The Bear Search and Rescue Foundation
2004 Medal for Distinguished Service to Education, Teachers College, Columbia University, New     York, USA
2005 Lifetime Achievement Award, Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival
2005 Siemes Forum Life Award
2005 Westminster College President's Medal, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
2005 National Organization of Women's Intrepid Award
2005 Honorary Conservation Award, University of Iowa, USA
2005 Discovery and Imagination Stage Award
2005 Westminster College President's Medal for Exemplary Achievement
2005 Pax Natura Award
2006 International Patron of the Immortal Chaplains Foundation
2006 UNESCO Gold Medal Award
2006 French Legion of Honor, presented by Prime Minister Dominique de Villepi


Latest Chimp Rescue
Wednesday, 8 August 2012

The Jane Goodall Institute South Africa is pleased to announce that an infant Chimpanzee in Equatorial Guinea (orphaned by the illegal Bushmeat Trade) has now been safely rescued
thanks to phenomenal teamwork...

Open the PDF Document >>>

  Mission and History Biography Rescuing Chimps Chimpanzee Eden Donations Events Calendar  
  Staff and Board Chimpanzees Raising Awareness Roots & Shoots Take Action Newsletter  
  Annual Report Publications Habitat Protection - Food Gardens - Spread the Word    
  Gombe 50 Awards & Distinctions     Sponsors    
  FAQ       Your Will & In Memory    
  Other JGI's            
    Links Adopt a Chimp Volunteer      
  © JGI South Africa :: 011 733 NPO